Neighborhood Pastor – Missionary – Advocate

I have for about the last 13 years been working at defining the work that I have been charged with at Drexel Gardens Christian Church. The following is a summary of where I am at in that process as of today 5/10/17:

 

I am the pastor for the people of Drexel Gardens Christian Church, meaning that I am called to care for all of those who share in our fellowship here. I am a teacher, I am a preacher, I am a facilitator of care giving, I am one who disciples, I am a disciple; I am a lover of all the people here.

I am a neighborhood pastor, which to me means that I am called to care for and love all of our neighbors who are a part of our neighborhood.

I am a missionary to neighborhoods, meaning that the work that I am called to do, while primarily for the Drexel Gardens Neighborhood, also includes work in other neighborhoods and/or communities where restorative work is needed.

I am an advocate for not only our neighborhood, but also for the very idea of what it means to be a neighborhood.

I am a firm believer that we are and I am called to “seek, work and pray for peace in the place where God has sent us, for in its peace we will all find peace.”   – paraphrase of Jeremiah 29:7

 

Leave a Reply

