I confess that I tweet for all the wrong reasons; and some other things as well.

I have a confession to make, I tweet for all the wrong reasons.

I tweet as a distraction to get away from things that I should be doing.

I tweet when I am bored.

I tweet when I can’t focus on anything else.

I tweet when I’m lonely.

I tweet when I am frustrated.

I tweet when I am happy.

I tweet when I am sad.

I tweet when I am mad.

I tweet when I am at work.

I tweet when I can’t focus.

The list about my tweeting for all the wrong reasons could go on for a while.

I tweet and read others tweets pointing me to useful resources, that both benefit my ministry and my life.

The main reason though I tweet to self promote and to draw attention to myself, to see who is reading my tweets and posting responses or maybe even retweeting or making my tweet a favorite.  Often I end up disappointed or waiting for a response in anxiousness, granted I don’t lose any sleep over it, but I do wonder why or why not. 

I confess that I am an approval junkie, I guess I could be a lot worse things, but desiring the approval of others has long been a problem of mine, having in roots in my early childhood. I am not near as bad as I used to be, but I still struggle with it at times, it is just one my many weaknesses. My faith in Christ has helped significantly, I find approval in my relationship with him, but not as much as I probably should, but I continue to work on and grow in that relationship as well as in relationship to others that are my family, my friends, my neighbors, my community members.    

I could probably confess a lot of other things too, but you don’t know me well enough for me to go there.

They say confession is good for the soul , but in all honesty, that only works if we confess to people who truly care for us and us for them. In the book of James (5:16) in talks about this.  “…confess your sins to one another and pray for one another that you may be healed.”

So with my confession today I do not claim healing, though I do claim peace of mine in knowing that I confessed; maybe someday me and you can get together and we can confess to each other so that both of us can find healing and peace.

Relationship is the key to all of it you know; you knowing me, me knowing you and both of us being at peace with other, certainly sounds like a plan to me. Maybe it just might work out well for others in this crazy world as well, but first let us get to know each other.   

Peace

Leave a Reply

