“Yes” and “No”

I have been reading through The Sermon on the Mount daily with a group of others during this Lenten season, I must admit though that some days that I don’t make it all the way through and hardly ever in a single reading. This is for a number of reasons; some good, some not so good. I could try to justify those reasons here but I will defer to the teachings of The Sermon itself on this matter. From Matthew 6 and 37 we have these words concerning oaths : “All you need to say is simply “Yes” or “No” anything beyond this comes from the evil one.” – NIV

 

I often find myself pondering these words and the implications that they have for all of us, wondering what our world might look like if more practiced this simple invocation.

 

These words of Jesus, I believe are best understood in the context of beloved community; a place where others know me and I them, for it is only in this knowing of each other that we can be at peace with who we truly are; a place where my “Yes” and “No” will be deemed as the only answers needed…

Leave a Reply

