A Piece of Me Died Today…

I struggle with life and death on a daily basis, but maybe not in the sense you may think. I am a battler of depression and have been since my teenage years. I find it hard to maintain an even keel  these days, but yet I lay down and I go to sleep and wake up the next day, being  thankful  for the rest and the life of the new day, knowing that a piece of me will die today.

One of the passages of scripture that guides and helps me live within my struggles is 1Corinthians 12:25-27 -(referring to the body of Christ, which is the community of the Church)

…that there may be no division in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another.  If one member suffers, all suffer together; if one member is honored, all rejoice together.

Now you are the body of Christ and individually members of it.

As you can see, its members care for one another, they not only rejoice, but also suffer together, lessening both the burden of suffering and mellowing the joy of rejoicing, bringing us back to a more even keel, a more solid ground, a place of enduring peace.

A piece of me died today, but that is no grave concern of mine, my concern lies more deeply with the soul of the other within whom a piece of them has also died. Being faithful Presence for them and sharing in their suffering so that I can  also share in their joy and just maybe share with them peace as well. Oh divine law of reciprocity the wonders you do work in the life of mankind, Father breathe into us your life-giving Spirit.

For not only has a piece of me died, but so also has a piece of my brother died as well.

And also in our dying to self, oh giver of life, you promise to breathe in us the Spirit that gives each of us life, life that not only draws us closer to you for today but also for all eternity.

A piece of me died today and I am thankful.

